Hittin Dose


Hittin Dosa is another of my favourites! No need to wait 20 hours to get the batter ready. Not that the other dosas are not worth the effort but hittin dosa is a soft and yummy and ofcourse quick variation of the dosa!

Ingredients:

Jowar flour 2 cups,  wheat flour 1 cup, rice flour 1 cup, gram flour ½ cup, 4 green chillis, 1 onion, curry leaves, cumin seeds, fresh coriander leaves (cilantro), salt to taste. 

Process:

  • Cut onion into small pieces.
  • Cut coriander and chillies into small pieces. 
  • Mix all the flours to make a thin pouring  consistency. The batter is more watery than dosa batter.
  • Add finely chopped onions, chillis, coriander(cilantro) and the cumin seeds and mix with a big spoon.
  • Spread the batter in the form of a circle on a hot dosa tawa to get smooth hittin dosa with multiple small holes.

Typically Served With:

Served hot with coconut chutney or putani chutney

3 Responses

  1. Hi…i love ur site n it reminds me of my hometown..actually in this recipe what is gram flour.

    Hi Sapna,
    Thanks for your comments..Gram flour is besan flour.
    See ya,
    Harsha 🙂

  2. Hi,

    Just stumbled upon this blog, when I was searching for North Karnataka recipes. Both my parents are frm North Kar. nd I have grown up eating these yummy dishes. I stay in NY, have recently started cooking nd was wondering whether I could ever ever prepare the treasures like Khaar-byaali, Hittin Dosa etc, without disturbing my mom at odd hrs. Now thanks to u, I can. Tumba Thanks 🙂

  3. Hello Harsha,
    Great blog! Reminds me of my grandmás food!
    Do you have a recipe for Avalakki Dose?

    Do visit my blog sometime, dedicated to the same cause as you. 🙂
    https://sabasige.wordpress.com

Leave a comment