Hirekai (Ridge Gourd) chutney


Hirekai is one of my favourite subjis. But more than the subji, I like the chutney that is made with its edges and peel. There are two versions that my mom makes. So here they go:

  • Wet Chutney

Ingredients: Ridge Gourd peel or scrapings from the gourds (hirekai cover) or tender hirekai cut into small pieces, onion – 1 small, 4-5 green chillies, 1 bulb of garlic cloves, cilantro (coriander) leaves, curry leaves, 1 teaspoon sesame seeds, 1 fistful peanuts, 1 teaspoon gural powder, tamarind paste to taste, salt, 1 teaspoon oil, 1 teaspoon cumin seeds, 1/2 teaspoon mustard seeds and asafoetida

Process:

  • Heat oil in a small kadai.
  • Add cumin seeds, mustard seeds, til seeds and asafoetida.
  • Then add peanuts and stir till they turn brownish.
  • Now transfer onion and hirekai pieces and roast till brownish.
  • Add garlic, coriander leaves, gural powder, tamarind paste, brown sugar or jaggery and salt.
  • Transfer to a grinder/mixer and grind to a coarse consistency.

Tips and Tricks:

To peel the gourd, you can use a fruit peeler and keep the peel aside.

Typically Served With

Tastes very good with chapattis, rotti or thalipet.

10 Responses

  1. Hey Harsha, r u my brother? From where did u learn all this cooking stuff anna?

    Hi Archana,
    I am a girl btw :)..I have posted these recipes sent to me by my parents! So there’s the secret of where I learnt all this..Hope you enjoy the recipes.
    Harsha

  2. I tried this chutney without onion and garlic and added tender ridge gourd. It was very yummy. Thanks for sharing.

  3. Hi Harsha,

    Thanks for all the recipes!…i am from dharwad , but i now live in Boston, & i love north karnataka recipes…Is there any chance i can get Gurellu in indian shops?…i love gurella chutney….thanks in bunches. :).

  4. Super!! super taste ……

    Thank u thank u ….

  5. What’s gural powder?

  6. Hi Harsha,

    ur north karnataka recipes r grt and i visit ur site regularly.

    can u pls post the “hunise tokku” (raw tamarind) recipe??

    thanks, archana

    Hi Archana,
    Thanks :). I will upload the recipe soon!
    Regards,
    Harsha

  7. Hi,

    My husband and myself both love north Karnataka cuisine but I am born and brought up in Bangalore and do not know how any of the dishes are made.

    I am yet to try out the recipes you have posted and will give my comments soon 🙂

    I wanted to know what Gural powder is (Mentioned in this recipe)

    Thanks
    Ranjini

  8. Thanks for the recipe, mom and dad are out on a tour and it really helped

  9. i love north karnataka food and i am impressed with this website, thanks a lot!!

  10. very good recipe but i wanted to know about udar vanige this recipe normally prepared to people going to teertha yatra like shreeshail ,pandharpur

Leave a Reply

